2019 Gulf States Math Alliance Conference

Friday, Feb. 15 - Sunday, Feb. 17, 2019 University of Texas at Arlington Arlington (near Dallas), Texas

Dr. Richard Tapia

University Professor, Rice University National Medal of Science National Academy of Engineering Fellow of AMS and SIAM

PROGRAM

Keynote lecture; Panel discussions; Graduate school fair; Information sessions on the bridge program, summer programs, REU opportunities

TOPICS

Mentoring students in the math sciences, Graduate school; Increasing participation from underrepresented/underserved groups; Networking among faculty and students

TRAVEL SUPPORT

Available to select teams consisting of students and a faculty mentor. Contact Dr. T. Martines (martines@uiwtx.edu)

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Jianzhong Su, Chair (U of Texas at Arlington, TX) Richard Chandler (U of North Texas at Dallas, TX) Caxia Chen (Tougaloo College, MS) Donald Cole (U of Mississippi, MS) Roderick Holmes (Texas Southern U, TX) Jacqueline Jensen-Vallin (Lamar U, TX) Bill Jones (Xavier U of Louisiana, LA) Michelle Lacey (Tulane U, LA) Albertha Lawson (Southern U and A&M College, LA) Alicia Machuca (Texas Woman's U, TX) Theresa Martines (U of Incarnate Word, TX) Cynthia Martinez (Temple College, TX) Joe Omojola (Southern U of New Orleans, LA) Jana Talley (Jackson State U, MS) Mark Tomforde (U of Houston, TX) Paulette Willis (Kumon of Houston-Steeplechase, TX)



Texas Woman's U Tougaloo College Tulane U U of Houston U of Louisiana at Lafayette U of Mississippi U of North Texas at Dallas U of Texas at Arlington U of Texas at Arlington U of Texas at El Paso U of Texas at Rio Grande Valley U of the Incarnate Word Xavier U of Louisiana

Alliance Institutions

Gulf States Math Alliance: https://www.math.uh.edu/gsmath https:/fermat.uta.edu/gsmath

REGISTRATION/FURTHER INFORMATION

Registration: https://www.math.uh.edu/gsmath Contact: Drs. J. Su and T. Aktosun (aktosun@uta.edu) UTA NSF Bridge Program: https://fermat.uta.edu/bridge



Sponsored by: The National Science Foundation (Grant #DMS1620630) The Department of Mathematics, the University of Texas at Arlington

