# 2023 Gulf States Math Alliance Conference

# February 24-26, 2023

Texas Southern University Houston, Texas

### Dr. Juan C. Meza

Recipient of 2022 Richard Tapia Award and 2008 Blackwell-Tapia Prize, SACNAS Distinguished Scientist Award, 2008 ACM Gordon Bell Award Fellow of the AAAS Served as Dean of Natural Sciences at the University of California, Merced

Served as Division Director of Mathematical Sciences, National Science Foundation



Collin College Dallas County Community College District Jackson State University Lamar University Sam Houston State University Southern University and A&M College Southern University at New Orleans St. Mary's University Sul Ross State University Tarrant County Community College District Temple College Texas A&M International University Texas A&M University-Commerce **Texas Southern University Texas State University Tougaloo College Tulane University** University of Houston University of Louisiana at Lafayette University of Mary Hardin-Baylor University of Mississippi University of North Texas at Dallas University of Texas at Arlington University of Texas at El Paso University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Xavier University of Louisiana

#### PROGRAM

Keynote lecture, panel discussions, graduate school fair, information session on Bridge Program, summer program, REU opportunities, and faculty professional development workshop

#### TOPICS

Mentoring students in the mathematical sciences; Graduate school; Increasing participation from underrepresented and underserved groups; Fostering networking among faculty and students; DEI in mathematics; Critical transitions from Community College to 4-year university to graduate school.

#### REGISTRATION

https://www.uta.edu/math/events/gsmath/index.php

#### TRAVEL SUPPORT

Available to select teams consisting of students and a faculty mentor. Contact Dr. T. Martines, theresa.martines@austin.utexas.edu

## ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Roderick Holmes (chair, Texas Southern University, TX) Jianzhong Su (co-chair, University of Texas at Arlington, TX) Phyllis Okwan (co-chair, Southern University and A&M, LA) Theresa Martines (co-chair, University of Texas at Austin, TX) Joan Evans (Texas Southern University, TX) Yunjiao Wang (Texas Southern University, TX) Cher Crockett (Texas Southern University, TX) Matthew Beauregard (Stephen F. Austin State University, TX) Rachid Belmasrour (Southern University at New Orleans, LA) Katrina Cunningham (Southern University and A&M, LA) Caixia Chen (Tougaloo College, MS) Donald Cole (University of Mississippi, MS) Meri Hughes (Mary Hardin-Baylor, TX) Brandt Kronholm (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, TX) Michelle Lacey (Tulane University, LA) Albertha Lawson (Southern University and A&M, LA) Joe Omojola (Southern University at New Orleans, LA) Josef Sifuentes (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, TX)

ce Institutions

#### CONTACT INFORMATION

Dr. J. Su & Dr. T. Aktosun, aktosun@uta.edu UTA BRIDGE-TO-MATH-DOCTORATE PROGRAM https://fermat.uta.edu/bridge/ GS Math Alliance web page: http://www.math.tulane.edu/~gsmath





TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY



Sponsored by: National Science Foundation (Due-2204309) Texas Southern University University of Texas at Arlington